19 Years Old, Sophomore in College, First Rental/Investment Property

11 Replies

Howdy! My name is Jacob and I'm looking to invest in my first property! I've read a few books and I've done a lot of research. There are so many factors to consider but I know some people can jump on their first investments without too much worry. I'm 19 years old and I'm a sophomore at Texas A&M. Gig'em. All I want to do is own and manage rental properties. There is so much potential and passive income available to be retired/comfortable at 25-30! It may sound crazy but I know it is very doable and possible. I have a couple questions that would really help me out if answered: 1. Financing for my first investment? Bank, lender? Where to find them? Best types of loans? 2. Should I invest in Houston (hometown) or College Station? I'm in College Station 8 out of the 12 months. Both maybe? 3. Any personal stories of success (or failure) at a young age? I appreciate all the replies. Y'all are awesome. Looking forward to growing with this community. Thanks and Gig 'em!

i'm really interested in learning about financing as well. Like how much down payment is needed and if there any loopholes for low down payments

Jacob,

Congradulations for stepping out and actually doing something about your future. I wish a had my mind straight when I was in college but that's a different story. In today's market lenders are wanting you to put skin in the game and 20% down is the standard unless you find hardmoney or a private lender to finance the whole thing.

Starting out I would invest in my home town. Easier to maintain and to handle tenants. Are you planning to get a management company for your rentals?

Personal story, while in college party too much and wasted a bunch of time. Go Longhorns!

This post has been removed.

This post has been removed.

wow! a youngster with his head screwed on !  Very nice.

Like Bill said, if only we had done this way earlier we all would of been retired by now.