New Investor with little cash and underdeveloped credit score.

11 Replies

So I am new to real estate investing and have been reading books for some time now and recently signed up with my local REIA. I am 19 years old so i havent really established a credit score yet and have saved up about 6k. I am looking to do my first real estate transaction and am stuck between buying a duplex and living in one side while i rent out the other, or trying to flip houses. the only problem is the financing part, im not sure how ill be able to finance a rehab flip with only 6k. I could use some tips and help. anyways thanks for reading my post and hope to hear from you guys soon! Thanks!

Weall congrats on saving up that cash. I did the same and life threw some curve balls and now I'm trying to come back. First I would try and getting a credit card, I myself have a line of credit, credit card, and a car payment. I'm 20 and my credit great now. I don't know what your market is in your area, but if you could go up to a four plex because you can them still apply for an FHA loan. In my area I have to get a duplex or else try and get a private investor involved to buy anything bigger. To go along with my last statement unless you have a great job your going to either need more cash or a private investor. Because again depending on the shape of the duplex, you will need a reserve for maintenance. In terms of flipping unless you have a lot of construction skills, Or a good enough deal, or comfortable with hard/private lender I'd probably avoid it. Again this is all going to depend on your market your working in.

Money and Credit is a crutch! You need to read up on "Creative Financing". Join your local REIA club, go to "meetup.com" and look up your area. Creative financing is lease options, seller financing- they're the bank, partnerships, Joint Ventures.

If you can do deals without putting your own credit/money at risk then in harder times you will also be successful.