What Job would you get to start in real estate?

12 Replies

what jobs are avialble if one wanted to learn the investment side of the business.  Obviously getting a real estate license is an option but are there any other type of positions that would focus more on invseting rather than the sales side?  I know a lot of people just jump right in with both feet and believe me, I've that about that.  It's just part of me just wants to proceed more cautiously.  The best case scenerio would be to just partner with someone with more considerably more experience than me, but I'm finding those type of relationships are hard to come by.  Being a newb I don't bring a lot to the table at the moment. 

Assuming you're looking at buy and hold, and becoming a landlord, I always suggest starting off working for a property management company. That'll get your hands dirty and you'll learn the ins and outs of how to make sure your business runs well. A dream property poorly managed will never earn what it should.

If you want to learn the investing side then try to find a local PM company that's run by an investor and pick their brains. I think that puts you in the best position for when you start since the investing side can be more abstract.

I will second what @Peter MacKercher says. Property Management will give you a good sense of what land lording is about, and give you a salary as well. I am a Realtor/real estate agent, which I love.  It gives you great sense in the buying and selling aspects of being an investor, but has little to do with the land lording side.  Also if you want to become an agent, you need to be able to go long stretches of time with no income.  I did not become a full time agent until I had enough buy and hold properties under my belt to give me an income.

@Russell Brazil

@Peter MacKercher