Why Birmingham? ....why not?

4 Replies

So I recently purchased a turnkey property in Birmingham and everyone asks me "Why Birmingham". I am still a beginner so the first thing that attracted me to Birmingham was the recommendation from more experienced investors. Next was the price to rent ratios. With limited funds for down payments we liked the lower purchase prices compared to other markets. Birmingham allows us to get more homes for our money and ultimately get the best cash flow. We also were told that it is a low key market among investors however it seems to be increasing popularity. Seems like we had more to choose from there compared to others. We also wanted to diversify geologically and having our foot in Indianapolis already we thought it would be good to get into a market in the South. Lastly we found great people to work with that had a product we were happy with. The negatives I heard are poor population growth, low job growth, and a questionable economy. For us it still made sense. I curious to hear others opinions on this Market. Thanks everyone!

@Joey Noel

Joey, how are things going in the B'ham ? Is the ownership working out for you? I have watched the area from afar for a while. Let us know your impression now that you have a few months in.

@Tony Gunter