First leap

9 Replies

Hello all looking for some insight.

I know there will be many different options on this and I welcome them all.

I am active duty military I am just starting out In REI One of my concerns right now is I have enough to invest in one buy and hold (really considering Turnkey companies) but we will have to save up for the next and I don't know how long that will take. Kind of thinking do I wait( reduce risk) or act now ( slightly higher risk).

Justin

@Justin Webb - How much longer will you be stationed in Florida? Is that where you are looking at investing. What is your income/budget? 

Account Closed at least a couple years in Fl left, initial 25K for my first property. Looking into turnkey so anywhere in the country that makes sense.

@Justin Webb

First of all, thank you for your service! 

How would waiting reduce risk? Because you'll be more knowledgeable at that point? If you have a pretty good grasp of what to look for in turnkey properties / companies (Some BP resources: here and here and this one's good too), then I think taking action and getting the experience now would be better. It's an investment towards your REI "career", which would translate into reduced risk in future investments. You would have to save up for the next one regardless, right?

Account Closed Buy now! Rent out rooms to buddies in military at a fraction of their BAH... It's a win win for everyone!

@Nick Britton is right....buy sooner than later, but know what you are buying and getting into. Buy a multifamily with VA loan & rent out other units or try same strategy with FHA loan....

$25k is a good start but likely not enough to buy a property all cash & do repairs needed.  So I am guessing you will need financing?  Look for someone who will offer seller financing or get a loan through a local credit union.