So about this partner

9 Replies

A friend of mine has been into real estate investing for about as long as I have and we have worked together on other unrelated issues with loans and such. I realized that he has more connections than I do and he has a really good type A personality and loves starting things and taking action. I'm more of a planner and I don't have as many connections since I just moved into a new location. I'm in issue of how exactly I'm going to add value to his business. I've done few deals but I have access to a lot of information in regards to marketing, business management, mentors, and various things of that nature. So I'm hoping this is a way that I can add value without bringing a lot of capital. I'm new to investing compared to some and I'm completely comfortable splitting profits and gaining experience for later on when I need and want to work with other investors. If you were in my shoes, how would you add value?

Justin, this is a great question. Here are a couple ways that you could add value.

1)  Operations/Project Management:  I've found that most guys that are like your friend are awesome at starting things but not too great at completing them.  You could be the guy that comes in and makes sure that projects make it all the way through the process…whatever that might be.

2)  Knowledge:  Maybe you are great at analyzing a property and making sure that it is a good deal.

3) Finder: You could be the guy going out and finding properties.

Be creative and look at what skills you are good at.

Thank you so much. I was already kind of considering a few of those things. I really think I would enjoy going out and finding the great deals. I have all the tools here on BP and some others. Again, thanks so much. I hope to keep you all posted.

I love that you asked how you could add value. That's ultimately what we do as entrepreneurs: add value and solve problems.