info about wholesaling in Virginia Beach

10 Replies

hello, I'm a beginner real estate investor who is looking to get into wholesaling until I've made enough money to move up into investing in flipping properties.  My wife and I have been researching wholesaling and have a few questions such as,,,

....Once we've found a property in a money making situation and intend to market it to an investor, how do we ensure the investor doesn't go around us to buy the property themselves?

.....what rates are normal for wholesalers to charge investors?

.....should we find the investors first, get their property criteria, and then look for the property that fits that criteria, or do our own evaluations and then find investors that like our selections, or a combination of both?

.....do we need a license?

Any help you can provide would be appreciated.  I'm excited and standing by for your answers!

You might be confusing wholesaling with bird dogging.  A wholesaler contracts the property and assigns it to the buyer/investor.  A Bird Dog finds a property for an investor and for a flat fee (depending upon the neighborhood inventory), gives the investor the property info, having contacted and determined the homeowner will take a call, email or visit.  From that point on the investor/buyer takes over, negotiates and closes the deal.  Once the deal closes, if it closes, only then do you get your fee.  Could be as little as $250 and up depending upon the value of the property etc.  Hope that helps

I have found it easier to build a buyers list of ppl who can pay cash then find properties. In wholesaling you get the property under contract once you and the seller agreed to the price then you assign the contract to the buyer for a higher price and you get paid the difference.