Question about a first property

8 Replies

Hi. I'm fairly new to real estate investing- I've been doing my research and I'm looking to buy soon. For my first property I'm planning on buying a triplex, living in one unit and letting the other two pay the mortgage and eventually expanding from there. I've found a house I like in an area I really like and I've been preapproved for a mortgage. Except when I took a closer look at the history I realized the house has been sitting on the market for a long time- 18 months, it was actually de-listed and then relisted in that time frame. This is a very stable and competitive market- good houses sell within days of being listed.

I walked through the property once- needs some cosmetic updates, new carpeting, wall paper taken down, ideally redo the kitchen in the one unit. A few minor fixes like the hand railing on the front steps needs re-anchored. Yes, obviously I would get a home inspection done to look for major problems.

This property has a lot of good things going for it (like tons of off street parking!) and as of right now 2 out of 3 units are rented but I'm a little worried as to why it has been sitting so long. Should I walk away or use this to my advantage and try to negotiate a killer deal?

@Beth Blank Welcome to BP!  There's a wealth of information here and an incredible network that I'm sure you'll find useful. 

Since it's on the market it doesn't hurt to ask the listing agent - I'm sure they can start to tell you a little bit about why it's been on so long. In their eyes they just want to get rid of it at this point.

It could be price, location, some hidden major issue (foundation problem etc) but knowing what it is will definitely help to negotiate a good deal that the seller is willing to take. 

Are all triplexes selling quickly? You don't want to compare this house to a SFR. Most people aren't real estate investors and could be the reason it has sat.