good idea?

10 Replies

Here is my situation in a nutshell.... Married with 2 kids. I am a Firefighter/Paramedic and my wife works for a family business.  I am 32 years old and I am wanting to start investing in buy and hold real estate.  

My question is: I have about 45k in an IRA that we have saved through the years of marriage. Is it a good idea to use this money to get started in real estate investing or is the better route trying to find a partnership? Thanks in advance.

@Rhett Dantzler  

Welcome to BiggerPockets! 

There are many ways to invest in real estate. If you pull out your IRA now you will be faced with taxes and penalties, which I don't think is wise in my opinion. You can also convert your IRA into self-directed and invest in real estate out of your IRA. If you do so you personally would not be allowed to do any work on the property nor can you personally benefit from the transaction in any way - only your IRA. Also, if you decide to use leverage - non-recourse financing must be utilized since you are not allowed to provide personal guarantee for your IRA.

@Rhett Dantzler I would not use the money from your IRA. You are going to be hit with taxes and penalties if you pull that money out. Newbies generally dont like this following advice, but I think if someone wants to invest in real estate you just need to save up the money. Getting on a budget where you save is not only gong to help you enter real estate with less risk....but learning how to scrimp and save and manage money is going to help you become a better businessman and investor.

A better route would be to save money outside of retirement.  I would cut out all non-essentials, brown bag my lunch, brew my own coffee and eat tuna fish for dinner before I got a partner!

I am being reading a lot on here about self-directed IRA's. That seems like the better option if I am going to us that money for real estate investing.