Long Island - First flip

16 Replies

Pulled the trigger and purchased my first house to fix up and sell.  I've done construction in the past, so I'm putting in a lot of sweat equity because I'm not that familiar with costs, and I'm just nervous.  I don't really hear people talk to much about finishing touches on here.  So i guess I'm looking for some advice on is how to do that.  What colors are most popular, should you put molding on the ceiling, should I wire the living room for surround sound, etc...  What really stands out to buyers.  Any advice from people who have done this would be much appreciated.

Details, if you're interested

Bought the house cash (personal funds) for $175k and at closing, the bank put up the first 11 months of real estate tax (short sale).  Not totally sure why, but I know I'll never get that lucky again.  It's a 3/1 that I'm converting to a 3/2.  Comps tend to go between 280-320 in the area.  Thanks for reading.

I am not an expert but I used to work in high end houses as a cabinet Maker, installer and finisher, but I would think that all comes to your personal goals and objective, what do you intend to do with the property? and who your potential buyers/costumers are? after you answer those question you will have a better Idea or what they would like in their home, and the finish that they might prefer, the final touch make a huge difference but as investor you should look for maximize the looks and finished,.! while keeping the cost as low as possible... your time to figure it out... Good Luck

Maybe I should take a little time to look at neighboring homes up for sale.  Although not many homes in the neighborhood are updated, which I guess is a good thing.