1st Multi-family Property (2,3,4 unit) - NJ preferably Union Co.

10 Replies

Wow! I have been active on BP for a few months now. The podcast really get me going. I am however feeling bummed out about REI. I teach in Union County, NJ (Plainfield, NJ). I like my job, but I do not want to be a slave to the 9-5 for the rest of my life. I am looking to buy my first rental property.
-I have pre approval (250K) since March of 2015. 
-I have put two offers on duplexes in Plainfield, NJ. (outbid by cash buyers)

Are the deals out there? In Union county at least. 

I am looking to break into Multifamily investing. I have pre approval but haven't been able to lock down my first house yet. Any advice for someone looking to buy in Union County. I work as a teacher in Plainfield, NJ - so I am looking for my first house to be somewhat close to my job (30 mins or less.)

If you have any advice on getting my first deal secured please respond. My impression of the market is that If I am not a cash buyer I will not be able to get any multi's esp. in Plainfield. 

Hi Tristian,

Are you attending any REI groups? This is a good place to let others know what your looking for and there may be someone there looking to sell a multi.

Another option is to do your own direct mail to find a property. Companies like YellowLettersComplete can mail to your exact specifications. I'm not sure how much time you have, but once you send some letters out, be prepared for your phone to ring and you'll need time to follow up with sellers and hopefully view some properties. If you take this route you may find a deal that others aren't all competing for, not to mention saving yourself fees/commission. Gluck!

I second the advice hat you should join a few real estate clubs and/or Real Estate Meet Up groups in the area you are  interested in living in.  Hook up with a real estate agent also.  Keep looking and you will find something

Good luck

Hey Tristan