SBA backed business loans for veterans

3 Replies

Hello,

My name is Dane and I am a veteran, full time Business student with a concentration in entrepreneurship, and a budding real estate investor. I am seeking any information or advice someone may have about my situation. My question is does anyone know is if is possible to qualify and use a small business loan as capital to start and grow my house flipping business? As a veteran I am very lucky to have some helpful benefits in relation to starting a business and purchasing real estate so it seems like a perfect scenario. I am having trouble finding information about this subject though. Ideally I would like to get a small business loan to use in some way to grow my real estate investment business however I am unsure if this is allowed. Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for reading! Thanks to BP for all the help!

I was actually researching that the other day as well.  I also thought it might be a good way to start, but like you, I couldn't find much about it either.  All I got was that they don't offer loans to start up a business but how true that is I don't know.  It only came from one source. I am interested in what you find out.  

The SBA website has a lot of good information for veterans looking to start a business. It even has a guide to making a business plan. The question I still can't seem to find an answer to is whether or not a small business loan, backed by the SBA veteran guarantee can be used as capital to put down on property flips. There is a huge advantage in being a veteran and many programs to help us get a business started as well as purchase property so it sounds like the perfect combination. I think the best idea is to develop a very thorough and detailed business plan to show how the funds with be used. You would think that is all it would take but of course it's never that easy!