Mission Statement

11 Replies

Hello!

I'm quite new to BP and to real estate investing.  I've not purchased my own first home, let alone an investment property.  However, my goal is to learn all I can as I prepare to purchase my first property within the next year.  That said, I am reading the Beginner's Guide, which states the importance of creating a business plan, which includes a mission statement.  

I'm curious, does anyone have any insight on how I might create a mission statement around investing in real estate?  I'm stuck.  Honestly, all I know is that I want to set myself up for financial freedom so I can be available to my son and any future children he may have.  I want to create a legacy (very different from what I've lived) for my son and his children.

That seems so selfish....would I include that in my "business" mission statement?

In advance thank you for your input!

B

Hey @Bobbi Martinez

Looks like you have a very strong "why" for real estate investing.  Found a good explanation from a Forbes article which simply stated your mission statement should answer the following 4 questions:

• What do we do?
  • How do we do it?
  • Whom do we do it for?
  • What value are we bringing?

Keep in mind that your mission statement can be somewhat dynamic and change over time as you expand your knowledge of REI and find your niche. A few things that might help you find that niche could be attending a local BP Meetup / REI Meeting, listen to the BP podcast, and reading @Brandon Turner book The Book on Investing in Real Estate with No (and Low) Money Down 

Keep up the great work and momentum. Best of Luck in your REI career

Scott Dixon

Thank you so much Scott....will definitely do all you mentioned!

Thanks for taking the time....have a fantastic day,

B

@Bobbi Martinez Don't waste too much time on this.  For now, a mission statement will just help you to focus.  There are many niches in real estate, but four general categories are:

Buy-and-hold