Condo Flip Chicago South Suburbs?

10 Replies

Does anyone have experience flipping a condo in the South Suburbs of Chicago (or flipping a condo at all for that matter)?  It seems like a decent option and the condo market in the area I'm studying (Oak Lawn) is strong with ~4 months of inventory and 79% of attached 2BR/2BA properties selling over the past 12 months.  

I realize that rental rules could be an issue in the event it's not selling and plan B (BRRRR) needs to be executed. Assuming the building is renter friendly, what would some other major differentiators be between a SFH and condo? Financing issues? other things I know I'm not thinking of?

Any input would be appreciated - thanks from a newbie,

Chris 

@Michael Barbari I don't have a specific deal in mind at the moment, just exploring the idea and want to see if I am barking up the wrong tree with thinking condo vs. SFH.

Have you had any experience working with rehabbers in the area/any insight on flipping a condo there? 

@Chris Wienke There are condos going for 55k and there are some for 209k in Oak Lawn. Prices in that area have been stagnant. You will get the most bang for your buck in a SFR. Easier to rent out or sell also.

@Chris Wienke One of the biggest things I have learned in flipping a condo is similar to what you mentioned. You need to leave yourself outs, one of them being the association allows rentals. If for some reason or another you can't get rid of it, hopefully the numbers work to rent it. Another area to look at is the condo's financials and any anticipated special assessments. A good association will have a nice CapEx fund.

I personally stay away from condos/townhomes as I don't want to have to answer or have to be in compliance with an association's rulebook.  It's one less control you have of the situation.  Not to say there are not people who flip condos, there are plenty, just make sure you leave your self outs.  Just my $.02