Collecting/Paying rent

6 Replies

Hello, I am looking to purchase a duplex with my fiancé sometime next June. This will be my first property and I plan on renting the other unit out. I am a BEGINNER to all of this. When it's time to pay the mortgage every month, let's say the 1st of the month. Do I tell the tenant to send me the money on the 29th or 30th or the previous month? Or do I say the rent is due on the 1st of the month (I pay the whole rent and then put the money they give me back into my account)? Any suggestions? 

Thank you!

Mortgages usually have a 5 to 15 day grace period and leases usually have a 5 day grace period.  I would set up a bank draft so that the mortgage comes out on the day it is actually due and also ask tenant to pay rent on the 1st of every month.

@Nathan Galvan , rent is generally due on the 1st (just how it is). If you close on your duplex on a 15th of the month, your first mortgage payment will not be due for 45 days. That gives you plenty of time to focus on acquiring an acceptable tenant. Ideally, you will get a prorated first months rent before the mortgage payment is due. This will help to offset the first mortgage payment. 

For the second mortgage payment, you will probably have to make the payment before the rent check is cleared. Don't spend any of the rent money, and set up a direct deposit for your mortgage from your rental deposit account to start for the third mortgage payment.