FHA Loan on Duplex - Vacancy/Move in Requirement

8 Replies

Hi everyone, I've been trying to find my first real estate investment and am planning to house hack a duplex and finance using FHA. Live in one unit, then rent out the other. However, the ones I'm seeing are fully occupied and the owner doesn't want to deliver one unit vacant. As a result, I've been losing out on opportunities for the past 8 months. I looked up the FHA requirements and it seems they only require that the borrower occupies the property within 60 days of closing. In this regard, can I buy a fully occupied duplex, evict one tenant on my own, and occupy before the 60 days is up? Or would one unit really need to be vacant upon closing? Your help is much appreciated!

I am closing on a duplex with FHA, but one side is vacant. We did look at several, but due to the above issue we passed for this one.

I would check your local and state tenant laws to make sure you don't do anything illegal. Maybe do a cash for keys and offer a bit for one tenant to leave?

Good luck!

Thanks @Andrew Meyer

Sorry for not responding sooner. I ultimately went with conventional financing and have agreed on an exit date for the tenant. 

How are things looking in Indiana? I'm considering out-of-state investing after I get my first deal fully under my belt. 

Our house hacking is going very well! Where we are it is somewhat tight to get good returns. I've seen several properties that have some promise,  but I'm in the process of building up cash for down-payment. If your interested in investing with a parner in the area, send me a msg and I can send you some of the numbers I've been looking at.