Why invest in Dallas TX?

13 Replies

Hi, I am new to real estate investment. I learned a lot from reading all the postings on the forum. I have been looking for a SFH in DFW as my first investment property for the past couple of months. We just put an offer in yesterday on a SFH in Cross Roads, Denton County. Now I am doubting if I made a right decision to invest in Texas. The house is listed for $169K, but there are multiple offers already two days after it's been listed. We offered $175K, but the average rent for that area is only $1450-$1550. After subtracting all the expenses, there will only be about $60 cash flow each month. With the high property tax and high insurance in Texas, it's very difficult to find a property that generates cash flow. Is this still a good deal to move forward? It doesn't seem like one based on the calculation.

I think in the North Dallas are you really have to do your due diligence. You can find good cash flow, but its going to take some serious leg work. Texas is a big place and there are other GREAT areas in the state to look into as well. Dallas is growing very quickly with multiple very large national companies moving in bringing in lots of jobs with them.

In that area that you are referring to im surprised its not under contract the first day. Lots of cash purchase are made within the first 24 hours of one being on the market.  

I cant tell you if you made the right decision with that home, but Dallas area is only going to grown.

I remember 6-8 years ago when I was going to college in Stephenville, traveling down 380 from Sherman to FTW there was only 3 or 4 major stop lights between McKinney and Denton. I wouldn't even attempt to drive down 380 now.