Contractor Deposit

12 Replies

I had a recommended roof contractor lined up to do a full roof tear off and replacement for 6600.

We had hammered all the details out and he was supposed to start this thursday 11/20. However, they wanted 1/3 deposit upon contract signing.Which would be Monday or Tuesday most likely. He said that it's "company policy". I even agreed to give a 1000 deposit, upon signing and the remaining 1200 upon start, however, this didn't work out.

From what I've read most people on here only pay upon START, not upon contract signing correct?

I paid 1/3 upfront for my last roof replacement. It is standard. As a roofer, I would want the funds before starting as well (looking from the contractor's standpoint).

Perhaps you can agree to have a third party (such as escrow), take the full payment, and the contract would stipulate when and how much would be paid out to the contractor. This way, you are protected, and the roofer is comfortable knowing the entire amount is sitting in an account for him. Just a thought.

Nation-

You paid 1/3 upfront as in several days before start upon contract signing, or upfront as in when work started.

It just seemed odd to pay 1/3 when the contract was signed several days beforehand, the tear off involves little to no materials, just a dumpster rental.

If I recall correctly, it was approx. 3-5 days prior to first day of work.

I know there are a lot of crooks out there and you need to protect yourself, but you did say this roofer was recommended to you. Don't you trust the recommending party?

Here is another idea: Pay with a credit card for the initial and if the roofer does not start, you can call the cc co. show the contract violation and have the charge reversed. That is why they carry insurance.

They were recommended a person on a local REI board. Not anyone I know personally.

It just seemed odd 2200 upfront, even when I tried to meet him in the middle at 1000.