How do I get started in real estate investing?

11 Replies

Hello everyone,

Its a pleasure to be here in Biggerpockets.com and need your guys' help. Im really new to this industry and just committed to making real estate my career and want to know the best way to get started. Please comment below. By the way dont have much capital at all.

Thank you!!

@Tlacaeleltzin Hernandez

Welcome to BP! It's great that you are taking the first step by saying your an investor.  I would encourage you to listen to every bigger pockets podcast that has been recorded. It will help you get a good well rounded approach to real estate. And it's free... You just have to listen to 150+ hours of content. Then just remember, it's not IF you can, it's HOW you can. 

@Tlacaeleltzin Hernandez

Welcome to Bigger Pockets!! 

Like Josh said, listen to the podcasts, also go through the blogs and the forum posts, and you'll start getting a feel of the various things you can do, and the various ways to do them. 

1. There are many types of properties, like single family, multi family, apartments, commercial, etc etc etc... Getting to know them will help you understand what excites YOU the most. 

2. There are many business models, like buy and hold, wholesaling, flipping, and many many more. Again, the contents in BP will be of great help in understanding those and seeing what suits YOUR NEEDS 

3. Figuring out what type of financing can work best for you will also head you in the right direction. 

The above list is in no means complete but may be of help you streamlining the thought process and get you started. 

Good luck!!! 

@Tlacaeleltzin Hernandez ,

Since you're short on funding, you'll want to start out with two primary tasks:

1. Learn to find private lenders and how to work with them.

2. Start building a buyers list. This is a key step in two kinds of businesses: fix-and-flips / rehabs and wholesaling.