Where to begin?

7 Replies

I am a full time civil engineer in the Kansas City metro area and trying to become a real estate investor. I would like to have buy and hold rentals for a passive income. I am wondering on where to start? Create/ start an LLC even though I am only looking for a few rentals ( less than 5) to began my career in this field? What price range is a good starting point I don't want to start to low and be trapped for maintenance repairs and such but don't want to overwhelm myself with debt to begin?

All good questions, I'd first start by checking out the forums and the podcast, tons on info out there.

My 2 cents... Don't worry about creating an entity (yet) unless there's a specific reason why you'll need one to start investing. Too many people let that stop them from starting. I'm not familiar with your market but I would guess if you've lived there for a few years you might already have a decent idea of what are good vs. bad neighborhoods. So check places like Zillow and Realtor.com to at least get a better sense of your "starting price" based on the areas where people are renting. Also check out the analysis tools here on BP. If you find something you think could be a good deal plug the numbers in. Lastly, have you heard of the 50% rule? Just use this as a guideline or better yet a jumping off point. In rougher areas you might end up spending a bit more than 50% where the houses might cost less. On the other hand the nicer areas might be more expensive but people tend to take better care of the property so you could end up spending less than 50%/year

Here's a link about the 50% rule (of thumb) https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/06/14/50-percent-rule/

Good luck investing

Jake