A Quick House Hacking Question

8 Replies

Hello!

I am new to real estate and I am currently saving up for a down payment on a small multifamily to house-hack for a year or two. I am having an issue though, and perhaps it is just that at the time, there are no real "deals" for my area. However, here is the problem...

Most of the properties I am looking at, when renting out the other half, would break even on cash flow, or run me around $100-$150 in the negative each month. My question is whether or not this is acceptable, seeing as how I would still be gaining equity in the house per month, while taking what I would normally be paying in rent myself and putting it in the bank.

Does anyone have any experience with this situation? I tried looking through earlier posts on the forums, but wasn't able to find an answer to my question. If anyone has any advice or experience, I'd really appreciate some advice!

Hey Eric. I'm a buy and hold investor in California who invests in properties out of state. I have no experience in house hacking but what are your current expenses? I ask because if you're currently paying  100-150 per month to reside anywhere than what's the difference? There's actually only a positive difference and that's the fact that you're living somewhere for 100-150/mo and you own the property that you live in? If you don't own your current residence but are paying more than 100-150/mo then my common sense says you're winning. Again, that's coming from an investor who doesn't house hack at all. But it makes sense to me to live for a little bit of nothing in a property that's building equity, paying off the mortgage and that you can in a year or two pull out some equity to purchase the next piece of property to do all over again. Then you have the opportunity to put a tenant in the door to replace you and at that point you'd be profiting and on to your second property.

Anyway... Those are just my thoughts on the matter buddy. Happy Investing