Best degrees, colleges, funding etc.

2 Replies

Hello, my name is Noah and I am very new to real estate and BP. I am apologizing in advance for this cluster of a mess of questions. First question is what are the best colleges that offer either a major in finance and minor in real estate or a major in both and which is more beneficial when It comes to being a real estate developer(What I want to do) . I  always see Wharton being at the top of finance, real estate, etc. in posts and I read that to get in to Wharton you obviously need great grades (which I have) and something like great diversity or something and write a compelling essay on why you should be at Wharton(it's obviously harder than I made it sound), after Highs school I plan on enlisting in the Army for about 6 years, I'm an eagle scout and I am related to a founding father, other than that I dont have much more to put for the "Diversity/Culture section" Back to degrees the reason I don't want to get just a real estate degree is I would like something to fall back on in financing or something similar to real estate developing if the risk in real estate gets too high for me. I also heard of people doing construction management and finance for degrees or construction management and real estate too. I guess the overall question is which is the best for real estate development plus a back up job in financing or banking or construction management. I would also like to know people's thoughts on being a multi unit franchisee to fund real estate projects. Sorry for my poor writing I've never posted a discussion or anything of the sort. Thank you for all future answers. I couldn't decide whether to put this in starting out or real estate developing sorry if I chose wrong one.