Do I need an accountant?

7 Replies

Hi, I'm new to real estate investment. I recently purchased a 2 unit home in southern Maine. I couldn't be more excited about the purchase. I moved in Jan 1st but I realisticaly won't be getting a tenant in the other unit until March or April. We will be living in the other unit and are completely okay having a unit vacant for a few months while we figure out exactly how to go about the rental process. My question is a fairly simple one. Should I hire a real estate accountant? I'm leaning towards yes but I don't want to waste the money if I hear from everyone that an owner occupied 2 unit is simple enough to do on my own.

Hi @Dan Fields - Welcome to BP! 

You can do it on your own, as long as you have the right tools in place. For starters, I use Quickbooks to track my financials. It will import into TurboTax, when I report my taxes at the end of the year. 

There may be an argument to hire an accountant, since you can typically deduct these expenses from your profits (pay less in taxes). 

Here's another good BP post related to this

Hope that helps!

You should have an Accountant file your taxes at the end of the year.  However, QuickBooks will help you take care of your accounting until then and give you reports to give to your Accountant at the end of the year making his or her time spent on doing your taxes more financially affordable, because they won't have to do so much work in figuring out your returns because QuickBooks has it all organized for them. Less time they spend on doing your taxes, the less money you pay them.