2016 California - Feasible rentals at home or look out-of-state?

78 Replies

Hi folks - I'm new to BP and to REI in general and am looking for some advice as I get started. I purchased my SFR back in 2007 (what terrible timing!) in Los Angeles county and plan to continue living here for the next few years, at a minimum. I'd really like to start investing conservatively in cash-flow-positive rental properties, while keeping my regular job, and with an eye towards retirement in 15-20 years. Unfortunately, I didn't have the reserves to invest during the last down cycle. Now that I do the SoCal market has of course rebounded. So, what's the best play for me right now?

• Keep saving and wait for the market in Southern California to crash again - but who knows when that will be?
  • Invest out-of-state in an undervalued area with all of the challenges that being remote might bring
  • Try to find a deal in Southern California in 2016. Is this even feasible though? If so, in what regions and how?

@Justin M.

It all depends on what your goals are. Right now, southern California is a very competitive market and there are very few deals going around. I don't think you're going to see another crash like 2007, so if you decide to go that route, you could be waiting a very long time. As for investing out of state, this is also difficult unless you find the right team that can be your boots on the ground.  If you're looking for buy and hold properties, the further you get from LA and San Francisco, the better you'll do. If you can only put 20% down, you're going to have a hard time finding anything that will break even, unless you head out to the boonies.

-Christopher

@Justin M. finding properties here that cash flow and still have a decent cash on cash return can definitely be difficult. I have found myself investing in Palm Springs vacation rentals because of this.