Difficulties finding deals

4 Replies

I am in the Albuquerque area, and the investor group that I have linked up with are really looking to focus on owner financed deals/land trusts, and dumping them off lease to own.

I have been running through the newspaper, and looking onlnine for owner finance deals, and havent found any specifically. Been calling on many (at least 50-75 diff properties), and havent had much of a positive response when bringing up owner financing.

I am still very new to this, but I have successfully taken a couple great steps in the right direction, such as finding investors to work with, and setting up an LLC. Now I need to find some deals for the investment group, and I am having problems.

When you call on properties, looking to introduce, or inquire about owner financing, what techniques do you use? Really looking for tips in working with the homeowners to get the necessary information without seeming to forward, or aggressive.

Help is appreciated!

--
Miles Beckler

Miles,

You need to make sure to look for motivated sellers. There is no reason for most people to work with you because they aren't very motivated to sell.

Focus your efforts on finding motivated sellers. Then, when you are taling with them, don't just jump into the "owner financing" discussion. Ask them a lot of questions about thier situation and go to see the home. Talk with them some more and develop a rapport with them. Ask them if they would take a purchase price of $X and when they agree ask them if they would be willing to take payments directly. Then you will have to do a lot of education with them so that they feel comfortable with the deal.

Don't get discouraged because you can do it, but make sure that you are spending your efforts on motivated sellers and not just anyone.

Hi Miles:

Prohabber is absolutely right, motivation is the ex-lax of RE investing; it can move mountains.