Fannie Mae Home - Start Out

35 Replies

Good Morning everyone,

I have a question. So I have been working for the government for 5 years. I make a pretty decent salary (nothing exciting). I haven't purchased a home since I been working. So I see a Fannie Mae property back in my hometown (Alabama) for 26k. I am able to get a mortgage loan for 10 years with 4% interest to acquire the house. My thing is that I may use it for my first home then possible rent it. Do you think this maybe a good route to go. The monthly payment should come to $325. Basically a car note. I don't have a car payment and basically try to live a little frugal.

What you think?

I think that is very smart. Not sure what the stipulations are when buying a HUD owner occupant. I'm pretty sure you have to live there for a certain time frame before you can rent it out. Good Luck!

I'm sure if you have the utilities in your name and you show usage, who could argue against that? You could always say you travel for work? Haha I'm not sure if they ride by or not. 

I do. I only do section 8 housing. Section 8 gets a bad name sometimes, but its a guarantee cash flow to me. I've had a few bad apples over the past 8 years, but once you get a system down, its awesome.

Yeah I have a five year plan. I've written down at least 7 different plans seeing what plan would get me where I wanna be the quickest. It's pretty much having a cap rate of at least 37%  and then doing the ladder effect with all the money made off the rentals and put them in more rentals. It's kind of the same concept as doubling a penny everyday for 31 days which is $10,000,000.00. 

You know, Fannie and Freddie will allow you to have a primary mortgage and up to 4 other mortgages. At least it's like that in Alabama.