First Timer - Single Home or Owner Occupied Multi Family

16 Replies

Hi Everyone!

I'm brand new to the Bigger Pockets site, and I wanted some advice on what to do first. I'm interested in buy and hold investing, and I'd like to buy my first property in the next 120 days.

I'm in the Minneapolis/St. Paul market and I'm trying to decide if I want to purchase a single family home or if I want to purchase a multiplex of some kind, and live in one unit and rent out the rest.

I definitely see some pros and cons to both but I wanted to know what you thought would be a better idea for a first timer.

Also, are there any books/resources you would recommend on owner occupied multiplex rentals?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Hi matthew, I'm in the same boat as you are and this community has been great. But I think I will wait by the end of the year and see how the market is

Welcome to BP @Matthew Hanrahan ! You're on in one of the best places to learn more about investing and to help you make the decision that fits you best. As for resources/books you can do a search on here regarding multi-family rentals, rentals and even helpful books to read them. Multiple threads will and recommendations will come up but as you search you can find what is helpful.

10x by Grant Cardone and What Every Real Estate Investor Needs to Know About Cash Flow... And 36 Other Key Financial Measures by Frank Gallinelli are two books.

Also the BP podcasts on here are great to listen to when you have a moment.

I wish you all the best in your endeavors.