Brand new to investing

6 Replies

I am brand new to the BiggerPockets forum. This is all actually very new to me. I'm only 20 years old and looking to start my investment journey. I've read many books in the last couple months of course including "Rich Dad Poor Dad". I have roughly 100k to begin my investment journey now the only problem is figuring out what exactly to do with it. My credit is good and I am interested in investing in Multifamily properties. Can anyone offer any advice or suggestions?

Hi Dakota!

Welcome to biggerpockets.  I joined this site 3 months ago and have found it to be an invaluable resource.  Have you gone through the free course (under the education tab)?  If not, that's where you should start.  I would also recommend the Millionaire Real Estate Investor as good beginner book.

What is your strategy? Are you looking to buy and hold multi-families as rentals? 

Hello @Ream Kidane !

No I haven't gone through the free course yet. Thank you so much for posting and letting me know about that! I will take a look at the book you recommended I haven't heard of that book yet.

My strategy so far is as you guessed, to buy and hold multi-family properties as rentals. It was the idea that is most appealing to me for passive income. My goal is to own apartment units possibly a complex by the time I am 25 so that gives me 5 years.

Promotion
Vacasa
Vacation Rental Property Management
We do the work. You get the ROI.
We do it all for your vacation rental. All—marketing, pricing, guest requests, housekeeping & more.
Free income estimate

@Dakota Gilliam

Welcome. Take a good look at student housing see below. Fill in the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.