multi family owner financing eal

4 Replies

Hi my name is Monique and I am currently a property manager. I have been in property management for the last 10 years and I have always wanted to purchase my own property. I ran across a deal and because I'm a newbie to investing I would like some feedback. It is a 102 unit property with 1,2 and 3 bedroom units, it is currently vacant and selling for $490k. The owner is offering owner financing and is willing to rehab 10 units to be rent ready. My questions are: If I were to do the owner financing what should I ask for as far as terms go? Because the property is in need of rehab I don't feel a down payment should be an option. My other question is where would I get the rehab money from? Should I try to do a 2 fold like a owner financing/repair allowance deal? Is that even something that can be done? I really like the property and I would love to be able to purchase it. Any advice would be helpful. Thank you

Hi Monique,

Not sure if there's a typo in your numbers, but you mentioned that you are looking to buy 102 units for $490,000; that is $4,009 per unit. Is this correct? Also, the owner is willing to rehab 10 of the units to rent ready condition. 

As far as your questions:

1. How is the condition of the property and the repairs needed?

2. How much do you think you need for repairs? 

3. As fas as what can be asked, negotiated, and terms, who can lend you the money, etc. anything is possible. You can ask the seller, look for private money, find a portfolio lender, etc. It depends on what you want to do with the property and what the numbers come up to.

However, I will recommend you to check with an attorney and/or title agent first to make sure there are no issues that you may be overlooking. Also, an inspection will be a good idea.