What would you do differently ?

7 Replies

How's everyone doing? I am a 20 year old newbie, and I have a question for everyone. If you had the chance to be 20 all over again, what are some thing you would do differently ? What are some things you shouldn't have did or that you should've did ?

When I was 20 I had no sense of direction. I had no idea what I wanted to do or where I wanted to end up in life. By 25 I was desperately wishing that I had figured out who "I" was before I had gotten married with kids because I was floating through life with absolutely no clear idea of what road to take to get where I wanted to end up. 

If I could do it over again I would figure me out before getting involved in serious relationships. I would know what my plans for life were, and a general idea of what actions I would take to get there.  And of course then I would take action! At 29, I have now figured all that out and gotten started, but I feel like I'm starting really late, and it's a lot harder to get it done with a spouse and 5 young kids to take care of. I know, I'm know, 29 isn't that old and I have plenty of time, but it's all relative, right? ;-)

Hope that helps, and have a great weekend!

@Malcolm Darensbourg ,

When I first started investing I thought I wanted to be a licensed agent also. As I progressed through my first dozen deals I partnered up with someone. We collectively decided that we'd be licensed but not do any retail work i.e. we wouldn't list or sell homes for people.

As I became much more experienced and saw how easy it can be if you have a good client who trusts your expertise to make money on commissions I changed my tune. I feel as though I've thrown away hundreds of thousands in commissions because I wanted to be known as an "investor".

Not saying it's what you should do, it's just a mistake I made.

Good Luck!

Promotion
Apartments.com
List, Screen, Lease, Get Paid, Manage.
No Better Place to Lease Your Place