What does it mean to "know your market"

7 Replies

I am still having trouble with understanding the concept knowing my market. By market do you mean the area that I'm focusing on? The city as a whole or just the neighborhood I'm in? I know how to find comps but I am not sure how to apply these numbers. As an investor what do you want to know when someone brings a deal to the table? 

Hi Jacob,

I understand the confusion since I am relatively new at this too.  I take "knowing your market" to mean that you have a good ballpark idea what properties are usually worth in the area that you want to invest.  For me, I have several specific neighborhoods that I look at, and just yesterday found a property listed that I know is around $10-15k below market value for that area.  Today, I'm trying to figure out if there is anything wrong with that house or if there is just a motivated seller.

If you are planning on investing all around a city, then I think that you would have to know that city.  If you are like me and there are only a few neighborhoods that interest you then you need to know those areas.  As I'm sure you are aware there can big fluctuations throughout the city.

That is my (limited) experience.  I've only bought one rental so far, but I'm hoping to add another by the end of the year.  Perhaps wiser people will comment on this thread now. :)

@Jacob Stuckey

I would add to that, knowing the economic factors driving the city. From there you may be able to identify the path of progress, up and coming areas or areas that are going through gentrification. Then you can focus in on areas that have great potential for growth. 

Location, location, location applies to renters and buyers. Find the best location you can afford and work that area for the best deals.

I work the question from the other end - - the CLIENT I want to serve.  

• who are they and what to they want or need that I can supply?
  • where can I find them {State, City, neighborhood}?