CA investors? Bay Area? Help with strategy.

33 Replies

Hi there, I am a CA bay area resident with about 60k of capital looking to break into the real estate market.  I have read a lot on the forums and listened to a lot of podcasts and am leaning towards investing in multifamily areas in CA outside of the bay area (price is the big reason) hopefully within driving distance.

I am looking at places like Merced and other college towns with a clear growth potential and lower home prices to get my feet wet.  However, I also come across other possible avenues such as Sacramento (and areas north of the American River) which yield higher rents and good deals, but a more unstable market for consistent rent and home prices.  

I am just fishing for opinions here and ideas...BUT...if you were in my position and had 60k AND lived in the bay area, I'm curious what your strategy would be and why.  Thanks.

Investing in multifamily apartment buildings 

I'm a real estate agent in Sacramento and I can say that the rents near Sac State or junior colleges in the area are NOT unstable. I'm not sure why you think that? I haven't heard that one before.

There are opportunities here in Sacramento but it will all depend on your strategy and the quality of tenant you'd like.

I like your plan of going not too far. If you keep it to a distance where you can manage if you had to I think you are better off. Everything goes better when you can go by from time to time and if things go bad you can just take over.