Where do I get the money?

23 Replies

Currently looking at this property but don't have any money to go with it. I think it's a good deal. Would make at least $600,000 a year.

The property is $15,550,000

Anyone know how I should get the money? I'm pretty new to real estate but I know this is a money maker.

That's only a 3.87 cap rate.

Make sure you can back up a potential investment with facts and figures when speaking with investors.

"I know this is a money maker."

Good luck.

@Angel Reyna

Will it make $600K after financing costs? The payment on a loan like that would be over $70K/mth ($840000/yr)

I was underestimating. Cap rate for the property is listed as 5.02%. I believe that if I could fix some stuff on there it could make a million a year. 71 units for $1200 rent a month is still considered pretty cheap in California.

Thank you for the replies.

You would need to run all the numbers and present that information to other people in hopes of finding investors. I would start with family, and friends then work outward.

You'll need enough money for a down payment (usually 25% unless you seller finance)

So you need to raise $3,875,000. Not too big of a deal. 

The raising isn't the hard part, its finding the deal and presenting the numbers. Especially since you're new to real estate.

i laughed when he said "I believe that if I could fix some stuff on there it could make a million a year."

this is not how you talk to investors. they need facts.

There are so many other properties out there that you can purchase with a way lower purchase price which has a higher cap rate. Iv seen properties for 400k with 13% cap rate. Dont focus on the purchase price, just because it is an expensive property it does not necessarily mean it is good profitable buy.