Lead based paint

5 Replies

BiggerPockets Community, I need an opinion.

I am very new to real estate investing, in fact I am trying to land my first deal. I found a duplex that I am very interested in and the owner told me that since the house was built prior to 1978, lead based paint was found on the fascia. In 2008, she had the unit painted and the HUD certified. Should I be worried about lead based paint as a landlord? Is this something I need to disclose to future renters? Any advice on the issue is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Joe

yes, you have to disclose. 

worried about lead paint is like worrying about global warming. it's there, deal with it. (here come the critics)...

Hi @Joe Ferrin ,

Due to local politics, only about one in 20 homes that I lend on do NOT have lead based paint. 

Everyone knows that you wear masks when working with sheetrock, that you instantly solve any issues of puppies or children chewing on corners, etc, and in generally everyone lives perfectly happy lives with the led based paint.

Chris Mason, Lender in CA (#1220177) and California (#1220177)
415-846-9211

Yes its alright. You do have to disclose, that's all. Also be careful and wear masks if you sand it.

In California, if there the property was built prior to a specific year or if it could contain lead based paint, you must inform the renter and provide and information sheet. A local realtor can probably tell you if similar requirements exist. Or search for apt owners' associations in your area. They may have a database of forms for members to use.

There's no specific state laws in Idaho yet about renting a home with Lead Paint other then the Federal disclosure laws, however, expect them to come in the future. The CDC has been working to identify high risk areas in Idaho http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2013/12_0273.htm