Newbie Market Analysis, critiques welcome

9 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets people.  I'm a newbie investor with zero rental properties to my name.  I've read both of Brandon's books (and listened to the audiobooks) and I'm also slowly working my way through the podcasts (#83 with Marcia Maynard is my fav).  

It seems like a big reoccurring theme is how important it is to know your market.  So, I've started looking for mine by driving around and doing some online market analysis. 

What I want:  A duplex or triplex within 30 minutes of my house that generates $200 per month per door in cash flow.   

My first target area is Downers Grove which is located in the western suburbs of Chicago.  Below is what I've found online.  My conclusion is prices are too expensive compared to the average rents.  I'm thinking it be a better use of my time to look at nearby less affluent towns.  

Please let me know what you think.  I would really appreciate any guidance/criticism you're willing to throw my way.

• County: DuPage (evictions relatively quick based on my own prof exp).
  • Population: 49,715 (2014, 2% increase from 2000)
  • GreatSchools.org Scores: 10-7 (mostly 9s and 10s);
  • CrimeReports.com: 59 sex offenders; last month 25 violent crimes and 60 property crimes.  Most incidents in the southeast of town. 
    • City has 73 police officers 
  • Median Household Income: $81,000
  • Median Home Price $345,000 (2013)
  • Average Unit Price DuPlex/TriPlex: $222,205 (ouch that's high)
  • Median Gross Rent: $1,136 (from City-data.com).
  • Average Rents:  $900 for 1 bed, 1 bath; $1200 for 2 bed 1 bath; $1350 for 2 bed, 2 bath (based on postings on Craigslist & Trulia)
  • Median Real Estate Taxes: $5,650 (1.8%)
  • Unemployment: 3.6% (Sept. 2015, trending downward)
  • New Construction: 76 permits issues in 2014, average cost $402,300 (steady increase in permits over last 5 years)
  • 3 Starbucks in town (more in immediate surrounding areas)
  • 4 large hospitals in town