Wholesaling

8 Replies

Hey Cheryl,

Check out the education section on Bigger Pockets. They have a whole section on Wholesaling. Plus check out the articles on Wholesaling. I am new to it as well and I currently have like 11 open web pages of articles I'm waiting to read in my downtime.

Thanks for the information. I'll check it out!  

Can we keep in touch?

There's way too much to know on wholesaling to give you a quick post that'll have you on the road to succeed in a day. 

Regardless of what anyone says, wholesaling is the hardest way to start in this business. Yes it's the cheapest but it's not easy. I stayed a month ago and it's like a second job. The funny thing is I am getting into real estate investing so I can get away from working but that days not here yet. 

Back to it being hard....I have been at it a month doing about 10-15 hours a week on, plus working a 50 hour a week job and raising a baby. On top of that I haven't closed a deal yet. I only got 3 leads so far too. 

To your question, the easy answer is, you have to learn how to

1. find distressed/motivated sellers
2. Approach them, convince them to sell you their house for cheap
3. Get it under contract
4. Sell it to a buyer at a mark up so you can make your fee. 

But you have to know a ton of other things in between all of that like

-what areas are investors buying in
-where to find leads and how to get in touch with them
-how to find buyers
-how to recognize a deal
-how to understand the numbers do you can actually come up with a selling price that makes sense
And on and on and on. 

Start reading and start asking questions. It'll fall into place enough for you to start but you'll never be a whiz. Everyone is always learning. 

Cheryl,