Neophyte looking for books to educate me on real estate

7 Replies

Hi biggerpockets!

This is my first post, so I'd like to introduce myself a little.  

My name is Akash and I graduated college 4 months ago as a chemical engineer from UCSD.  I've been employed for about 3 months and recently started listening to the BP podcast while driving to work  (The podcast got me to come here!).  I want to start real estate quickly, however, after listening to the BP podcast I've decided that educating myself first is the better decision.  

Also considering that I've got no money saved up for a down payment (its all going to student loans...) , now is the perfect time to educate myself as I save up.

After reading through the ultimate guide, and looking around, I've decided that I want to purchase a duplex, or some form of "plex".  

Have any of you read some really good books to help you get started on real estate investing, particularity on "plexes"?

I'd also love to hear any stories about real estate you have to share!

Here are 20 books to check out and there's one in particular that covers multifamily properties.

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/wp-conten...

And I highly recommend listening to every BP podcast, even the ones you think aren't going to be relevant. There's always a good tid bit about strategies that relate to all types of investing.

My favorite was the one by Frank Gallinelli - What Every Real Estate Investor Needs To Know About Cash Flow. Use this to construct your own APODs for deal analysis.

Originally posted by @Tamara Taylor :

Here are 20 books to check out and there's one in particular that covers multifamily properties.

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/wp-conten...

And I highly recommend listening to every BP podcast, even the ones you think aren't going to be relevant. There's always a good tid bit about strategies that relate to all types of investing.