Need advice with financing

6 Replies

Hello BP, I'm new to these forums and could use some advice. I own some land with a mobile outside of Austin that has about 75k in equity. My wife and I are wanting to get started in REI by buying a house (single or multi) in the 250k range that we could live in for a short while before turning it into a renter. During this time we would rent our mobile out too.

I have enough to be able to make a sizable down payment and still be able to add value to the property. My problem is financing. I am an independent contractor and I'm not able to prove much work income for the past two years. Although, I have a stock portfolio that has been mildly profitable and I have supplemented my income with stock sales. Can I count this as income for loan approval? Can I get a line of credit based on the value of my portfolio? Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

I think you would have trouble with this approach because the potential value of your portfolio is always zero in a market panic or some other severe downturn. It is rare that real estate, by contrast, is ever devalued to zero, as even the land usually has some intrinsic value (there are exceptions, obviously). Banks are primarily interested in your ability to repay the loan, as they have no interest in taking control of the collateral offered, and if you can't prove a secure stream of income you are going to have to have a very large equity position in the property such that the bank would stand to make money either way and would have your equity as collateral against default. 

@Dare Lamberson Are you looking at only bank financing? You may be able to find alternative financing at a slightly higher rate that doesn't factor your income in as much - the thing I would caution you about that is that you mentioned you wanted to live in it for a short while. Most non-conventional lenders won't lend on owner occupied property as the disclosure requirements and regulations are much greater.