Beginner here

16 Replies

Hey guys, I'm a freshman in university in Hamilton Ontario and I was looking at a serious possibility of investing in real estate (most likely buy and hold) in the area so I can get a cash flow while studying. I am brand new to real estate so I'm planning to learn before investing of course, but the problem is that single family homes around the university are upwards of $375 000. A house around the area would be great for student rentals, but I obviously don't have the capital. Houses around Hamilton don't go anywhere below $240 000 for a lower quality house. Is this a feasible option for a student like me? 

Hello and welcome to this website!  I have been learning about investing full time about 15 months while I medically recover.  I have heard on a couple of times that you can rent out around colleges to get rent per room so you typically get a bunch more and have their parents guarantee on the lease.  Posiive cash flow on rentals is one way to go and one of the best long term investments.  I do not know if Canada is any different than America so that makes any advice I give be suspective to the law in Canada.  Depending on your ability Wholesaling would be a good short term investment for you.

Another short term investment is Fix and Flip.  That can potentially provide you with more current income.  As a newbie I would focus on reading and listening to educational podcasts and books that will give you more confidence.  More learning usually leads to more confidence for you.  That will lead to more clients that believe that you know what you are doing.  Know whatever market you select well and about their locations.