Good inexpensive rental market with best potential appreciation

14 Replies

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie from Hilton Head,SC. Looking to buy inexpensive small multi-family rentals. There are none here so I'm looking in surrounding markets such Savannah, GA, Charleston, SC or Jacksonville, Fla. Does anyone currently work these markets or have information on them? Thanks

Inexpensive and appreciation don't normally go together. It sounds like you want a market with a history of very poor appreciation that will suddenly turn the corner and start appreciating at a rapid clip starting the day after you close escrow. I wish you luck on that one ...

Thanks for the replies. David. No I'm not expecting for something to skyrocket the day after I close. What I'm looking for is a market not too far from me that has turned the corner and is in the early stages of expansion so I can get some market appreciation to go along with forced appreciation if possible but my primary concern is cash flow. If I can get the appreciation though I will attempt to to sell using a 1031 exchanging into a larger property with a larger cash flow in another market in expansion and repeat.

Not quite.

Cash flow and appreciation expectations normally have a inverse correlation because expected appreciation or depreciation is "baked" into the current ARV for future resale expectations

However if you choose an appreciating market you can often get an inexpensive house with the same or even more appreciation potential than an expensive house in that same market. However the cash flow still likely won't be as good as an inexpensive house in a depreciating market

The trick is to understand correctly the demographics of the market you are buying into to eliminate unsystematic risk.