Have you ever seen your properties?

16 Replies

Hi BP! I'm new to BP and REI in general, but found plenty of great information here.

One thing I am curious about though, it sounds like quite a number of investors own properties out of state and wondering how many investors have never seen/visited their properties or perhaps only seen it prior to purchasing and have not visited it since closing?

I'm in the North Jersey area and open to properties OOS, but wondering how often do you go see the property or do you primarily leave it to a property manager to take care of it?

@Jin L. @Alex Malyarovich I usually have pictures sent to me first, (roof, kitchen, bathrooms, back yard, etc) then either my joint venture partner or student, depending on who I am teaming up with, will do a Facetime or Skype or Video "walk through" for me. Since I have "boots on the ground" in each city I invest in, I send the person by every now and then to check on things. I've heard that some people use an on-line service (I forget the name) people on the site bid on jobs. You select one and they go and take pictures, or videos for you. Pay by Paypal. That seems to work too.

I saw mine during the inspection, then every so often I or family will drive by it when in town. That's more because they are curious that I bought a house OOS more than anything else.

I also did have people ( that I knew) check it out with the realtor. They weren't pros but I trusted their judgment and they were mostly confirming what I saw.

80% of my deals are bought sight-unseen because there is frankly not enough time to go to the property and arrange viewings etc etc (especially if out of state). If it is a good deal, it is important to move quick!