Trying to get my Real Estate career started

4 Replies

I am currently 21 years old and attend Texas A&M University. I am originally from the DFW area which is where I would like to work once I graduate. I currently work as an intern for a local real estate company here in the Bryan/College Station area so I am just getting started with real estate. However, I want to get into investing as soon as possible. I guess my question is what should I do to start? 

Hi Jordan, you are already doing two things right, learning by being on Bigger Pockets and working for a real estate company, you will make some connections there that will help with your pursuit in acquiring and running real estate. Another thing you can do is join your local REIA and network with other investors in the area. If they offer classes and educational opportunities, I would make sure to attend those as well. Instructors are a wealth of knowledge and you can propel yourself forward when armed with the right education. I would also look for some realtors in the area who work with rental properties and let them know what you are looking for so you can get set up on an automatic search to see the inventory as it comes on the market so you can practice analyzing properties and eventually make offers. Also look into the different bank financing options that are available to you so that you can understand what you will need to get into your first property in terms of finances. Know what your goals are for the short and mid term and strive to hit those goals. Hope this gives you a bit of direction.

@Dorothy Butala This helps a lot I genuinely appreciate it. I will look into all the things you mentioned. I want to get started as soon as I can. Again, thank you.

Hello @Jordan Brown  ,