• Temecula, CA
Votes |
Contacting Owners of Foreclosure Properties

Sharon Thorson
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Temecula, CA
Posted Oct 9 2017, 22:32

Hi All, 

I just finished responding to a post by another BP member about contacting the owners of Foreclosure properties.  I thought I would post my response here as well in order to share my journey thus far as a newbie investor: (I revised my response because I forgot a few things!)

I live in Temecula, CA (Near San Diego County) and I'm currently in the process of locating Foreclosed properties slated for Auction. My daily routine (in no particular order) is:

1. Driving for Dollars - This is really putting your finger on the pulse, and a great way to get to know the neighborhoods you want to invest in (or finding out the ones you really, really don't!)

2. Searching the MLS (I have access since I'm an Agent) - Unfortunately, there are very few Foreclosures in my area that are listed on the MLS, and if they are, they generally or not very good deals, which I find out by analyzing the properties using the BP tools and my own Excel Spreadsheet I created.

3. Searching Craigslist for FSBO's, - Again, very few ads even come up for these and they are spotty as far as locations I am interested in.  I'm finding that most ads are being placed there by Agents, so not off market like we are all looking for, but this could be different in other parts of the state and country.

4.  Checking Auction sites - If I find the property to be of interest, I will drive over there and check it out.  Then, research the owner and try to contact them.  So far I have been able to speak with neighbors and left notes on doors, and even had one neighbor offer to contact the owner and give them my information.