Where to form "Managing Member, LLC" which will be the "sponsor"?

13 Replies

Hello all,

I'm just getting started in the syndication business and just finished Gene Trowbridge's "It's A Whole New Business: The how-to bible of syndicated investment real estate"... phew...  

I plan to follow his suggestion and create a "Managing Member, LLC" with me (and possible future active-management partners) as the members. I/We will then use this LLC as the "sponsor" and "managing member" in the "Operating, LLCs" that will be set up for each investment group. I know it is best to set up the "Operating, LLCs" in the state where the investment property is located, but where is the best state to set up the "Managing Member, LLC"?  We live in New York City, but I expect to focus on Florida and Pennsylvania with our first syndications.  

Looking forward to some healthy responses to my first post!

Thanks in advance,

Dan

Daniel,

It sounds to me like you would be setting up a Parent llc, be careful with that in PA, i believe that Parent llc's offer no protection there and it opens up your other llc's to the liability of your others, therefore eliminating the protection you are trying to set up. This may have changed, and i could be wrong but i would consult with an Attorney familiar with PA law. maybe @Chris K. could answer that ?

@Daniel Crouse

I haven't read that particular book, so it's hard to comment on it. But my first question is whether you plan to do an actual syndication. If so, you will want to work with an attorney that specializes in this area so that he or she can provide necessary advice on corporate structure and complying with SEC requirements. During that process, he or she can answer this question for you after reviewing all the necessary details. It is unfortunately an expensive process.