Estimating Rehab Costs On BP Calculator

4 Replies

Hello all,

I've been using the BP Rental Calculator to analyze some different deals, but one part of the equation that I always feel as if I'm speculating too heavily on is the ARV and Estimated Repair Costs. I've been examining slightly distressed properties, with the hope of performing a good amount of renovations on the property to get a higher ARV.

However, I'm a college student with little knowledge of the cost of maintenance/repairs on a home. The costs of flooring, roofs, siding, HVAC, etc, are pretty much unknown to me. I know that there are books available on how to accurately estimate this, which I will eventually read when the time is appropriate, but when searching for deals I'm obviously not going to tour each home and do a detailed analysis. 

So to summarize, my question is not on how to get a super accurate estimate of ARV/Repair costs, but rather, how to get a good ballpark estimate when I'm only looking at a few pictures and a short description of the property on sites like MLS and Zillow, or when Driving For Dollars.

Thanks in advance!

Patrick

@Patrick Erichsen

I'm glad you are leading the spearhead into Passive Income as a college student. I've read about estimating for fixes. One unique way of estimation is to consider one major repair only (Roof or HVAC, which tend to be a high cost when compared to other fixes) that is needed for the property you are looking at. This requires you to do a quick search for brand new (Roof, HVAC.) and get a quote/feel of what is a normal charge for that. Your numbers will be on the conservative side for sure. I also suggest you go to a property to tour/see so you can get in the habit of spotting possible damages. And seeing properties is critical because more repairs needed lead to more negotiations with the seller for a better deal. Remember, repairs are not always a headache. Repairs can increase your cash flow significantly.

Good luck!