Just turned 18 What should I do after High school? College? Work?

8 Replies

Hello Everyone, first off I'm new to this website. I came across it while looking looking for tips on starting out in the real estate market. Now let me tell you my current situation...

I'm 18 Years Old, just turned. I really want to get into real estate and become a realtor, I have to firstly, graduate from high school in order to  take classes and obtain my license and all of that jazz, my question here is, is it worth it to go to college? I am an average student, I'm honestly not the brightest kid when it comes to school, with a 2.6 GPA and a 19 on my ACT, I don't really have any scholarship opportunities, However, I don't let that discourage me from the fact that I am smart with many other things and I strive in so many different fields that I can do almost anything I want to in life regardless of my GPA. Anyways,  I want to really get into real estate ASAP. I'm talking the day after graduation, I want to begin my classes for my license. I want to begin working FULL-TIME for a broker ASAP, because in the state of Kansas (My current living situation) you have to work under the umbrella of an agent for your first 2 years of being in the business. Now, I am fully aware of the failure rate of the people in the market, I believe it's 87%. But that does not discourage me whatsoever, the only thing that sort of slows me down is the fact that NONE of my friends are interested in this at all, I have no support other than my father which is all that matters I guess, but It would be nice to have friends who have the desire to be able to Work to LIVE, not LIVE to work. I don't want to be that guy who goes to his job every day and has the same duties, same positions, and locations, I don't want to spend my next 40+ years sitting behind a desk, that would drive me crazy. I am willing to work super hard, which I feel my generation lacks MAJORLY. I'm not scared of long hours and little sleep, I'm not