Very basic question: RE License, MLS and Agents

5 Replies

I'm new to Real Estate investing and have a very basic (i.e. dumb) question. 

My aim is to secure my license in Georgia and get access to the professional MLS so I can begin hunting and securing properties independently.  If I understand the licensing requirements correctly, I have to be tied to a Real Estate Broker to get my license. Endorsed by them or affiliated with them. 

I haven't made a connection with a local Agency yet.  I didn't know why the RE Broker would want to endorse me or work with me if all I'm doing is hunting for my own investment opportunities.  How do they get benefit from that relationship too?

@Eric Stieler almost every state has some sort of a requirement for new agents to work with a managing or sponsoring broker. This is a good thing, since most new agents have no idea what they are doing. The schooling to become an agent is 100% focused on compliance with federal and state laws, and doesn't really teach you anything about how real estate is actually sold. 

New brokerages are actually very excited about taking on new agents for the most part. Brokerages make their money from you through commission splits, desk fees and transaction fees. You would be an asset to a brokerage in most cases, as the easiest deals always happen in the first year when family and friends come to you to sell their houses. 

As an investor, the selection of a brokerage is critical. I decided to go with a smaller brokerage that gives me tons of flexibility here in the Chicaro area. I do most of my work with other investors here in the Berwyn, Riverside and Brookfield area near where I live, but my office is actually in Chicago.  There are a few trainings offered, but I never go to them, as I am busy doing business!

As an investor, you also need to find a brokerage that is ok with you doing mostly your own investor business. Look for 100% commission shops or smaller brokerages for the most part.