How do you know the property is a scam?

4 Replies

Just want to say, I'm a total newbie when it comes to investing but have helped my parents sell and buy a home. I hope to start investing on my own in a year or two. My parents are interested in househacking and I saw a potential property  that was a fourplex for just $160k. The pictures shown seemed to be in good condition. The post was on zillow and by owner so I just texted the number on the post to see if it was still available. It was a very casual approach and the guy responded promptly. 

However after I asked if we could see the property he said only from the outside even though the post said to schedule a viewing by calling the number. He's from out of state and the property has been sitting for a couple months now. I tried calling him and I was put off by his text responses as if he didn't want to talk to me. He called me a whole week later after I left a voice mail. The property seems a bit too good to be true and the owner seemed a bit evasive. Is this something still worth pursuing? 

proceed with caution,look up the owners name,talk to tenants to find out who they pay rent to,due diligence ,

Seems fishy, but being out of state might mean that he's tired of coordinating viewings with tenants (assuming its rented) for tire kickers.  The owner being a pain could work out in your favor since he isn't cooperating with anyone else trying to see it.

Many people will submit an offer on a property without ever seeing it just to get it tied up, as long as you have an inspection and financing contingency, you can always back out.  Make sure to coordinate with your agent (assuming you are using a buyers agent) to understand exactly what you need to do back out and the time frame on doing so.

if he was a scammer he would do the opposite. He would be putting pression on you instead of being casual/nonchalant.