Is Real Estate a business or an investment opportunity?

19 Replies

Hey guys.

Do you think it is better to approach real estate as a business rather than an investment opportunity? Also what can be the the advantages and disadvantages to this approach? 

What advice would you give to someone who is new to the real estate industry and is looking to get into residential property estates and lodges/resorts? I know that I am dreaming big but I'm obviously going to start small and build slowly and steadily toward my goal. 

Thank you.

The answer to the title of this discussion is ...."Yes".  That's because it's both.

Don’t seller yourself short. Dream Big and Act Big. Go take Mass Action and Attack your big dreams with passion. All the best.

I am a newbie so take this as a grain salt... I think that after researching it extensively most successful investors approach it as a business. I think there are different opportunities that are hands off but come with higher risk than traditional investments for a slightly better return.  Best of luck and never give up on a dream! 

I would respond to your question with "What's the difference?". Would you (Could you?) invest in something that's not a business?

Real Estate can be approached either (or both) ways. You can be a passive investor in someone else's business model, or you can be an active participant in your own or someone else's. Either way, the two are very much intertwined. 

I gather the question is do you make it your full time job vs a side business/hobby. I have it as a side. But I am sure others on here do this full time.

A investment by itself is not a business however the operation and management of income properties definatly is. If you do not view income investment properties as a business you will not be in business very long.

If your investment is in real estate then they are tied together as a business venture.

@Account Closed