New Investor From Rhode Island

7 Replies

New to real estate investing and new to Bigger Pockets!  I have been listing to the podcast for about a year now which has been fueling my desire to become a real estate investor.  I am a recent college grad trying to balance rent, student loans, and saving up money to buy a property.  I have made a goal to myself to buy my first property one year from today!  

Any investors from the Rhode Island area?  I have seen a lot of traffic from the Midwest area but not too much from the East Coast / New England.  Fellow New Englanders - i'd love to connect! 

@Calvin Matthes You've certainly come to the right place! There's a small number of active RI investors here on BP and a much bigger number of folks who stop by occasionally, but collectively we've got a good set of experience to help with most questions.

The podcasts and other resources here on Bigger Pockets are fantastic, and another resource you might check out is a local real estate investor group such as the RI Real Estate Investors Group (RIREIG) which usually meets the 3rd Thursday of each month - check out their website rireig.com for upcoming meeting info.

I usually recommend that new people try to connect with other folks who are just starting out or maybe one step ahead, like people who just got their first rental property, meet up for coffee/tea/whatever and help each other out etc.

Anyway, I'm sure you'll have questions along the way so you can certainly ask them here. Welcome to BP!

Hi Calvin,

Not quite Rhode Island, but i am a newbie in NH who just purchased my first property a few weeks ago.

Bigger Pockets has definitely been motivating over the last 6 months or so to get me here. 

Now i just hope i made a wise first choice. The market this year was very high priced and nothing around here comes even remotely close to profit margins i hear some people talk about in other parts of the country, at least not at MLS/realtor listed prices.